Local driver recovers from spin, but can’t win in ASA Pro Trucks

Local driver recovers from spin, but can’t win in ASA Pro Trucks

by Jon Brown, MERIDIAN, Idaho – John Wong nearly pulled off a 40-lap miracle Friday night at ASA-sanctioned Meridian Speedway, but Dan Doan didn’t flinch.ASA Pro Trucks

In the sheet metal-optional ASA Pro Trucks, Wong, who had the shortest haul among his competitors, was carrying the local fans’ hopes when he spun out early in the main event.

By the end of the rough-and-tumble race, though, the Parma, Idaho racer was knocking on the door for a victory after zooming past Jerome, Idaho’s Drew Reitsma with a daring top-groove pass in Turn 3-4 with 10 laps to go.

Twin Falls, Idaho’s Dan Doan held off Wong’s hard charge from the high side, though, to win the first of two main events planned for the quarter-mile paved oval.

Doan drove a borrowed truck to the checkered flag.

“This (fellow Twin Falls driver) Alan Larson’s truck, and he brings me up to drive this thing, and I’m grateful,” Doan said. “He’s a heck of a great guy.

“Meridian Speedway is awesome. I love this place.”

The ASA Pro Trucks opened a two-day stay in the Treasure Valley when Larson passed rookie Kendal Woll of Buhl, Idaho halfway through their B Heat and went on to win.

In the A Heat, veteran Johnny “J.P.” Pierre out-ran the field for the checkered flag.

The ASA Pro Trucks race again Saturday at Meridian Speedway.

Visit www.meridianspeedway.com for ticket prices and other information regarding Saturday’s races.

The racetrack can be reached by phone at (208) 888-2813.

Meridian Speedway

ASA Pro Trucks

Friday’s unofficial results

Main event (40 laps) – 1. Dan Doan, Twin Falls, Idaho; 2. John Wong, Parma, Idaho; 3. Drew Reitsma, Jerome, Idaho; 4. Tanner Wong, Parma; 5. Hannah Newhouse, Twin Falls


Heat races

(Eight laps each)

A Heat – 1. Johnny (J.P.) Pierre, Twin Falls, Idaho; 2. Dan Doan, Twin Falls; 3. Randy Hadlock, Elko, Nev.; 4. Hannah Newhouse, Twin Falls; 5. Scott Luttmer, Hagerman, Idaho

B Heat – 1. Alan Larson, Twin Falls; 2. John Wong, Parma, Idaho; 3. Tanner Wong, Parma; 4. Kendel Woll, Buhl, Idaho; 5. Drew Reitsma, Jerome, Idaho

Fast times

ASA Pro Trucks – John Wong, Parma, Idaho, 14.799 seconds