Mechanical problems end lengthy win streak at Meridian Speedway

Mechanical problems end lengthy win streak at Meridian Speedway

by Jon Brown, MERIDIAN, Idaho – Even the guy who ended Shelby Stroebel’s 18-race winning streak at ASA-sanctioned Meridian Speedway seemed a little remorseful SaturdayASA Modifieds night.

“That’s certainly not the way we wanted to take the win away from Stroebel,” Nampa, Idaho’s Jentry Pisca said. “That was bad luck. What a great racer.”

Two laps into the 35-lap main event, smoke began to spew from the rear end of Stroebel’s previously unbeaten racecar. He pulled off the track, opening the door for a new Modifieds feature winner at the track for the first time since Aug. 20, 2011. Mike Reid was the previous Modifieds main event champion not named Stroebel.

Pisca won the inaugural Intermountain Outlaw Modifieds Series appearance at the speedway.

He drove away from the field and led by as many as six seconds.

Two other feature winners took advantage of late restarts and the low side of the track to find the checkered flag.

Caldwell, Idaho’s Jason Sanders won for the second time in as many TEAM Mazda Subaru Mini Stocks features in 2013.

Rick Baldwin, a veteran driver out of Middleton, Idaho, also used a powerful right foot to get to the front late in the College of Western Idaho Professional Truck Driving Street Stocks main event.

There was no mystery in the Mtn. Dew Winged Sprints main event, however, as Meridian, Idaho’s Johnny Giesler ran away from the field for a six-second victory.

“We were struggling a little early today,” Giesler said, acknowledging his pit crew’s hard work that resulted in a winning machine later.

“It was running good. We got it figured out a little better.”

Giesler pulled away from the field as Sierra Jackson of Middleton, and Meridian drivers Mike Murgoitio and Bryan Warf jockeyed for position in second through fourth place behind him.

Fast reflexes and strong cars on the low side of the track worked wonders Sanders and Baldwin in their respective main events.

Baldwin was the benefactor when Melissa Weaver’s car snapped, crackled and popped out of Turn 4 while she was leading with seven laps to go.

Weaver exited the track, putting Baldwin out front with Jeffrey Meads of Nampa right on his rear bumper.

With three laps left, Caldwell’s Daniel Johnson spun out to trigger a caution flag and side-by-side restart.

Meads, who was the only racer who elected the high side on the cone restart, pulled with Baldwin as the cars paced to the green flag.

Coming low out of Turn 4, Baldwin powered to the lead and held on for the victory.

His Mini Stock Ford Mustang wasn’t running perfect, but Sanders remained perfect with his second feature victory of the year.

Driving with what he described as a glitch in his Ford Mustang, Sanders found a way to drive under Larry Hull III on a restart to win the race.

Sanders also picked up the Mini Stocks main event on April 13.

With his brother Jonathan attending a high school prom, Larry Hull III served as a substitute driver in the Mini Stock division he won last year.

He drove his brother’s racecar to the front with 13 laps left in the 35-lap feature when he passed Brenden Fries.

Two laps later, though, Sanders got his shot when Boise, Idaho’s Jayson Wardle spun out in the middle of Turns 3 and 4.

Next Saturday, the Project Filter All-Star Challenge brings the annual Project Filter Pro-4 segment race to the track.

It’s also Military Appreciation Night with special admission for all military personnel.

The Coors Super Stocks, NAPA Late Models, Domino’s Pizza Legends ant Tates Hornets also will be on the track.

Gates open at 4 p.m. with racing at 6:30 p.m.

Tickets at the gate are $10 with a $2.50 discount for senior citizens and a $4 discount for children ages 7-11. Children 5 and younger get in free. A family pass good for two adults and up to four children ages 7-11 is available for $30.

Visit or “like” Meridian Speedway on Facebook to get up-to-date news on the track.

The racetrack can be reached by phone at (208) 888-2813.

Meridian Speedway

Domino’s Pizza Legends season opener

Saturday’s unofficial results

Main events

TEAM Mazda Subaru Mini Stocks (35 laps) – 1. Jason Sanders, Caldwell, Idaho; 2. Larry Hull III, Boise, Idaho; 3. Brenden Fries, Meridian, Idaho; 4. Donovan Parker, Garden City, Idaho; 5. Colton Nelson, Meridian, Idaho

College of Western Idaho Professional Truck Driving Street Stocks (35 laps) – 1. Rick Baldwin, Middleton, Idaho; 2. Marv Weaver, Nampa, Idaho; 3. Jeffrey Meads, Nampa; 4. Daniel Johnson, Caldwell; 5. Shawn Hansen, Boise

ASA Modifieds (40 laps) – 1. Jentry Pisca, Nampa; 2. Charlie Ham Jr., Boise; 3. Dell Scott, Meridian; 4. Josh Jackson, Payette, Idaho; 5. Rick Fowble, Twin Falls, Idaho

Mtn. Dew Winged Sprintcars (30 laps) – 1. Johnny Giesler, Meridian; 2. Sierra Jackson, Middleton; 3. Bryan Warf, Meridian; 4. Mike Murgoitio, Meridian; 5. Brandon Johnson, Meridian

Domino’s Pizza Legends (40 laps) – Not completed at press time

Ultra Touch Best-looking Car

Domino’s Pizza Legends – Mike Cullum, No. 37, Meridian, Idaho


Heat races

(Eight laps each)

Domino’s Pizza Legends

Fast Dash – 1. Sara Henry, Nampa, Idaho; 2. Phyl Zubizareta, Garden City; 3. Casey Tillman, Kuna, Idaho; 4. Mike Cullum, Meridian; 5. Zach Blume, Eagle, Idaho

B Heat – 1. Mark Cirelli Jr., Nampa, Idaho; 2. Chase Gilbertson, Boise, Idaho; 3. Charlie Fiscus, Star, Idaho; 4. Brent Collins, Boise; 5. Johnathan Davis, Emmett, Idaho

C Heat – 1. Aubree Wartman, Boise; 2. Cody Hollis, Payette, Idaho; 3. Daynna Skiver, Meridian; 4. Jamie Hyde, Boise, Idaho; 5. Jenna Cullum, Boise


Mtn. Dew Winged Sprintcars

Fast Dash – 1. Mike Murgoitio, Meridian; 2. Sierra Jackson, Middleton, Idaho; 3. Bryan Warf, Meridian; 4. Brandon Johnson, Meridian

B Heat – 1. Johnny Giesler, Meridian; 2. Matt Elliott, Caldwell; 3. Dave Parrie, Boise; 4. Mark Floyd, Boise


ASA Modifieds

Fast Dash – 1. Jentry Pisca, Nampa; 2. Rick Fowble, Twin Falls, Idaho; 3. Shelby Stroebel, Meridian; 4. Charlie Ham Jr., Boise

B Heat – 1. Dell Scott, Meridian; 2. Caitlin Stroebel, Meridian; 3. Cade Hollon, Riggins, Idaho; 4. Pete Trammell, Boise; 5. Rosalee Weller, Caldwell

CWI PTD Street Stocks

Fast Dash – 1. Daniel Johnson, Caldwell; 2. Bobby Riggs, Fruitland, Idaho; 3. Melissa Weaver, Nampa; 4. Marv Weaver, Nampa; 5. Rick Baldwin, Middleton

B Heat – 1. Shaun Bush, Marsing, Idaho; 2. Tommy Lumpkin, Nampa; 3. Scott Shoecraft, Boise; 4. Ray Bolinger, Meridian; 5. Shawn Hansen, Boise

TEAM Subaru Mazda Mini Stocks

Fast Dash – 1. Larry Hull III, Boise; 2. Colton Nelson, Meridian; 3. Jason Sanders, Caldwell; 4. Donovan Parker, Garden City; 5. Brenden Fries, Meridian

B Heat – 1. Rick Brees, Meridian; 2. TJ Labronte, Meridian; 3. Mary Johnson, Meridian; 4. Brandon Shira, Boise; 5. Amber Rogers, Meridian

C Heat – 1. Donovan Johns, Meridian; 2. Denny Gerber, Boise; 3. Jayson Wardle, Boise; 4. Nathan Dearing, Boise; 5. Scott Gilligan, Filer, Idaho

D Heat – 1. Robbie Hyde, Twin Falls; 2. Duane Gerber, Boise; 3. Alex Duda, Boise; 4. Terry Dodge, Meridian; 5. Keri Ballard, Boise

Fast times

Domino’s Pizza Legends – Casey Tillman, Kuna, Idaho, 15.364 seconds

Mtn. Dew Winged Sprintcars – Warf, 11.723

ASA Modifieds – Shelby Stroebel, 14.132

CWI PTD Street Stocks – Melissa Weaver, 14.941

TEAM Mazda Subaru Mini Stocks – Sanders, 15.521