Melissa Weaver rumbles to first win of the season

Melissa Weaver rumbles to first win of the season

by Jon Brown, MERIDIAN, Idaho – Melissa Weaver sat back and watched the carnage and then sped past all the competition to get her first victory of the year.DSC08304

The complexion of the 40-lap College of Western Idaho Professional Truck Driving Street Stocks feature changed dramatically when reigning series champion Chad Bess of Nampa, Idaho passed division rookie Rick Bolinger of Meridian, Idaho only to suffer heavy damage at the point of impact when Bolinger slammed into Bess’ right front fender and sent him into the front-stretch wall just outside of Turn 4.

Bolinger’s night ended when Middleton, Idaho’s Rick Baldwin, who was unable to brake in time and slammed into the rear of Bolinger’s Ford Mustang.

The early mayhem five laps in put another rookie Mustang driver, Boise, Idaho’s Scott Shoecraft, out front.

Ten laps later, though, Weaver and rival Jeffrey Meads – both Nampa racers – took control with a strong tandem pass to the front of the pack.

Meads had the lead briefly, but Weaver used a strong racecar to overtake Meads’ Mopar with a high-side pass coming out of Turn 4 with 23 laps to go.

There was no looking back from that point as Weaver began picking off slower cars with ease.

In Friday’s other main events:

Bryan Warf became the first two-time winner for the ASA-sanctioned Canadian-American Western Winged Sprintcars Series when he won the Friday night 40-lap feature to kick off BOB FM Diamond Cup XXV, which is co-sanctioned with the ASA Northwest Sprintcar Racing Association.

Twin Falls, Idaho’s Dan Doan survived a challenge from Parma, Idaho’s John Wong to win the 40-lap ASA Pro Trucks race.

Another Nampa driver, Lynn Sharp, completed a Tates Hornets sweep by winning the division’s 40-lap main event.

The weekend of racing concludes Saturday with the second night of the Diamond Cup and its 75-lap finale feature.

Other classes taking the track Saturday include the ASA Pro Trucks tour, the Coors Super Stocks and the TEAM Mazda Subaru Mini Stocks.

Tickets are $18 for adults, $15.50 for military with ID and senior citizens, $14 for children ages 7-11. Children 6 and younger get in free. The gates open at 4 p.m. to racing at 6:30 p.m.

In the Hornets main event, Sharp pushed to the lead with about 20 laps left in a race that featured six yellow flags and one three-wide restart.

Sharp also won the division’s A Heat, finishing in front of fellow Nampan Thomas Harrod. Harrod also finished second to Sharp in the main event.

After the third caution flag of the main event, Harrod drove from third place to the front of the pack in five laps, passing another Nampa driver, Drew Crenshaw, for the lead with 24 laps to go.

Visit for ticket prices and family pass prices for each night.

Meridian Speedway

96.1 BOB FM Diamond Cup XXV

Presented by Ameristar Diamonds

Local divisions

Friday’s unofficial results

Main events

College of Western Idaho Professional Truck Driving (40 laps) – 1. Melissa Weaver, Nampa; 2. Jeffrey Meads, Nampa; 3. Shawn Hansen, Boise, Idaho; 4. Rick Baldwin, Middleton, Idaho; 5. Scott Shoecraft, Boise

Tates Hornets (40 laps) – 1. Lynn Sharp, Nampa, Idaho; 2. Thomas Harrod, Nampa; 3. Cody Brizendine, Nampa; 4. Drew Crenshaw, Nampa; 5. Chad Barker, Kuna, Idaho


Trophy Dashes

(Four laps each)

CWI PTD Street Stocks – 1. Jeffrey Meads, Nampa, Idaho; 2. Melissa Weaver, Nampa; 3. Rick Baldwin, Middleton, Idaho; 4. Marv Weaver, Nampa

Tates Hornets – 1. Thomas Harrod, Nampa; 2. Jess Ryska, Meridian, Idaho; 3. Cody Brizendine, Nampa; 4. Cody Garrett, Boise, Idaho


Heat races

(Eight laps each)

CWI PTD Street Stocks

A Heat – 1. Melissa Weaver; 2. Meads; 3. Marv Weaver; 4. Baldwin; 5. Shawn Hansen, Boise

B Heat – 1. Ray Bolinger, Meridian; 2. Chad Bess, Nampa; 3. Shaun Bush, Marsing, Idaho; 4. Bobby Riggs, Fruitland, Idaho; 5. Scott Shoecraft, Boise

C Heat – 1. Josh Hale; 2. Destiny Huber, Caldwell, Idaho; 3. Rick Moran, Meridian; 4. Mike Kemp, Meridian; 5. Tommy Lumpkin Kirkland, Nampa

Tates Hornets

(Six laps)

A Heat – 1. Sharp; 2. Brandon Hild, Boise; 3. Rob Powers, Meridian; 4. Brizendine; 5. Shelly Bledsoe

B Heat – 1. Chuck Youngblood, Meridian; 2. Crenshaw; 3. Barker; 4. Cody Kirkland, Meridian; 5. Hunter Gates, Boise

C Heat – 1. James Pahl, Caldwell; 2. Beau Faught, Caldwell; 3. Fred Nagele, Boise, Idaho; 4. Antonio Ryska, Caldwell; 5. Bill Allen, Meridian

D Heat – 1. Colton Nelson, Meridian; 2. Brenden Fries, Meridian; 3. Kenny Driebergen, Boise; 4. Michael Capps, Meridian; 5. Jackie Good, Nampa

Fast times

CWI PTD Street Stocks – Melissa Weaver, 14.856