Meridian Speedway Crowns 65th Season Champions

Meridian Speedway Crowns 65th Season Champions

Meridian Speedway crowned its 65th crop of division champions Saturday, October 12.  Champions from the NAPA Auto Parts Big 5 Latemodel, Mountain Dew Winged Sprintcars, Project Filter Pro-4s, Domino’s Legends, CT400 Winged Sprintcars, Teleperformance Claimer Stocks, College of Western Idaho Street Stocks and High School Tuners, TATES Rents Hornets, and Junior Stingers collected their hard-fought hardware.

Hannah Newhouse piloted her Boise State University, The Car Store machine to one main event win and four top-five finishes on her way to the 2016 NAPA Auto Parts Big 5 Latemodel championship. The Twin Falls, Idaho native became the first woman to claim the NAPA Auto Parts Big 5 Latemodel championship in the division’s fifty year history.

Mountain Dew Winged Sprintcar championship honors went to Meridian, Idaho’s Bryan Warf. Behind the wheel of his Allan Marsh Travel Center, Dave’s Quick Lube sprinter Warf captured his fourth straight Mountain Dew Winged Sprintcar title. 

Joe Barton rode a wave of consistency to the 2016 Project Filter Pro-4 championship. Nampa, Idaho’s Barton piloted his Tyco Structural Enterprises machine to top-five finishes in every race on the calendar, scoring two victories along the way to his sixth division title.

Kuna, Idaho racer Casey Tillman claimed his second consecutive Domino’s Legend championship trophy Saturday. Tillman wheeled his Taylor Made Upholstery, YMC legend to five victories and six top five finishes in 2016.

Consistency was the name of the game for rookie CT400 Winged Sprintcar racer Stacey Jensen. Jensen, racing out of Buhl, Idaho, was the only driver to make every event on the 2016 schedule, a feat that earned him the title of CT400 Winged Sprintcar champion.

Boise, Idaho racer Brian Hyde survived a rough and tumble season in the Teleperformance Claimer Stock division to score his first Meridian Speedway championship. Hyde piloted his Affordable Rain Gutters, NW Fire Equipment racer to five main event wins on his way to the 2016 title.

Todd Seaver outmatched the College of Western Idaho Street Stock division to claim the 2016 championship. Seaver piloted his Lucas Oil, Loan Mart entry to eight victories en route to the title.

Meridian, Idaho racer Riley Rogers blistered the asphalt and the College of Western Idaho High School Tuner field en route to the 2016 division title. Along the way Rogers wheeled his Goodwill Finance, H&H Accounting machine to seven main event victories and set a new track record for the division on three separate occasions.

Rookie competitor Josh Randolph took home the TATES Rents Hornet division championship. Nampa, Idaho’s Randolph piloted his Hungry Onion machine to victory in the division’s final race of the year to secure top honors over veteran campaigner Bill Allen.

Young Shane Harris laid claim to the Junior Stinger championship trophy Saturday. The Boise, Idaho driver piloted his Kim’s Kars machine to one victory and six top-fives in 2016 to outlast the rest of the field.