Powers’ memorable night includes memorial win, Meridian record

Powers’ memorable night includes memorial win, Meridian record

MERIDIAN, Idaho – Rob Powers passed off all the credit Saturday night after a record-setting performance at ASA-sanctioned Meridian Speedway.MS LOGOsmblk

The hometown driver ran the fastest qualifying lap in the history of the Coors Super Stocks and then backed it up with a win in the division’s 40-lap main event, which was the Dee Forrey/Don Vanschoiack/Robert Manwill Memorial.

“It’s not me, it’s the crew,” Powers said of why he had such a big night. “All I do is drive, but Jeff, Mike, Scott and Dave work their butts off on the car – and Alex.

“We did a lot of stuff to this thing, and it worked out. We did a lot of testing.”

In other Saturday main events:

Mike Murgoitio lapped all but the top five cars in the 75-lap finale to BOB FM Diamond Cup XXV – co-sanctioned by the ASA-affiliated Canadian-American Western Winged Sprintcars Series and the ASA Northwest Sprintcar Racing Association.

Bryan Warf, like Murgoitio a Meridian, Idaho racer, finished second in the Diamond Cup main to win the ring furnished by Ameristar Diamonds – the first Diamond Cup championship of his career – and also nail down the $1,000 bonus as the second annual Northwest Asphalt Sprintcar Speedweek champion.

ASA Pro Trucks points leader Johnny Pierre crossed the finish line as the winner then wrecked with fellow Twin Falls, Idaho driver Hannah Newhouse to close a thrilling 40-lap spectacular.

Jonathan Hull of Boise, Idaho ended Jason Sanders’ season-opening three-race winning streak in the TEAM Mazda Subaru Mini Stocks.

Saturday’s victory was special to Powers for several reasons. His parents had made the trip from Twin Falls, Idho to watch him race, and he was familiar with the men honored with the memorial trophy he received from fellow Super Stocks driver Gale Carter after the race.

“I knew Dee and Vanschoiack,” Powers said. “I was up there at the flagstand giving them trophies for years.

“They were good dudes, so it’s great to win their trophy.”

Powers, whose record time was 14.228 seconds around the quarter-mile oval, was challenged by Justin Ellis of Boise, Idaho in the final laps of the race. But Ellis went around in the middle of Turns 3 and 4 with three laps left to eliminate any pressure on Powers.

In the Mini Stocks, Jonathan Hull held a comfortable lead over Sanders when he took the checkered flag at the end of an exciting 40-lap race.

The last time Sanders finished a race out of the top spot, he was second to Hull’s brother, Larry Hull III, in September.

Jonathan Hull took control of Saturday’s main event with a strong high-side move past Amber Rogers of Meridian near the midway point of the race.

Rogers had shown some horsepower of her own three laps earlier when she used the high groove to push past Richard Brees and then-leader Alex Duda.

Next Saturday, Meridian Speedway pays tribute to public servants with its annual EMS/Police/Fire and Corrections Officer Appreciation Night. The ASA Modifieds run their first double feature of the season with support from the NAPA Late Models, Domino’s Pizza Legends, Project Filter Pro-4s and Jr. Stingers.

Bike races for kids also will be held prior to the start of the heat races. Call the racetrack at (208) 888-2813, or watch Facebook for more information on how to get involved.

Tickets are $10 for adults, $7.50 for military personnel with ID and senior citizens, and $6 for children ages 7-11. Children 6 and younger get in free, as always. A family pass for two adults and up to four children 7-11 is $30.

Gates open at 4 p.m. with racing at 6:30 p.m.

Visit www.meridianspeedway.com or “like” Meridian Speedway on Facebook to get the latest information.

The racetrack can be reached by phone at (208) 888-2813.

Meridian Speedway

96.1 BOB FM Diamond Cup XXV

Presented by Ameristar Diamonds

Northwest Asphalt Sprintcar Speedweek No. 5

ASA-sanctioned Canadian-American Western Winged Sprintcars Series

ASA Northwest Sprintcar Racing Association


Saturday’s unofficial results

Main events

Diamond Cup Finale (75 laps) – 1. Mike Murgoitio, Meridian, Idaho; 2. Bryan Warf, Meridian; 3. Johnny Giesler, Meridian; 4. Andy Alberding, Roseburg, Ore.; 5. Matt Hein, Roseburg, Ore.

Diamond Cup XXV diamond ring by Ameristar Diamonds champion – Warf

2013 Northwest Asphalt Sprintcar Speedweek champion ($1,000 bonus) — Warf

ASA Pro Trucks (40 laps) – 1. Johnny Pierre, Twin Falls, Idaho; 2. Hannah Newhouse, Twin Falls; 3. Scott Luttmer, Hagerman, Idaho; 4. Jerry Rice, Twin Falls; 5. Alan Larson, Twin Falls

Dee Forrey/Don VanSchoiack/Robert Manwill Memorial for Coors Super Stocks (25 laps) – 1. Rob Powers, Meridian, Idaho; 2. Gale Carter, Boise, Idaho; 3. Kim Bradford, Eagle, Idaho; 4. Justin Ellis, Boise; 5. Josh Jackson, Payette, Idaho

TEAM Mazda Subaru Mini Stocks (xx laps) – 1. Jonathan Hull, Boise; 2. Jason Sanders, Caldwell, Idaho; 3. Duane Gerber, Boise; 4. Brendan Fries, Boise; 5. Mary Johnson, Meridian

ASA Pro Trucks (xx laps) – Not completed at press time


Trophy Dashes

(Four laps each)

WWS/NSRA sprintcars

A Dash – 1. Mike Murgoitio, Meridian, Idaho; 2. Andy Alberding, Roseburg, Ore.; 3. Johnny Giesler, Meridian; 4. Ryan Burdett, West Jordan, Utah

B Dash – 1. Rick Brown, Springfield, Ore.; 2. Billy Kennely, Seattle, Wash.; 3. Richie Larson, Prince George, British Columbia; 4. Ron Larson, Quesnel, British Columbia

Other classes

Coors Super Stocks – 1. Justin Ellis, Boise, Idaho; 2. Kim Bradford, Eagle, Idaho; 3. Gale Carter, Boise; 4. Rob Powers, Meridian, Idaho

TEAM Mazda Subaru Mini Stocks – 1. Jason Sanders, Caldwell, Idaho; 2. Duane Gerber, Boise; 3. Mary Johnson, Meridian; 4. Jonathan Hull, Boise


Heat races

(Eight laps each)

WWS/NSRA sprintcars

Heat No. 1 – 1. Matt Mansell, Victoria, British Columbia; 2. Jeff Montgomery, Langford, British Columbia; 3. Brandon Johnson, Meridian; 4. Alberding; 5. Matt Elliott, Caldwell

Heat No. 2 – 1. Greg Middendorf, Snohomish, Wash.; 2. Bryan Warf, Meridian; 3. Richie Larson; 4. Giesler; 5. Mark Floyd, Boise

Heat No. 3 – 1. Murgoitio; 2. Burdett; 3. Brown; 4. Kennely

ASA Pro Trucks

A Heat – 1. Johnny “J.P.” Pierre, Twin Falls, Idaho; 2. Tanner Wong, Parma, Idaho; 3. Scott Luttmer, Hagerman, Idaho; 4. John Wong, Parma; 5. Doug Dugger, Twin Falls

B Heat – 1. Hannah Newhouse, Twin Falls; 2. Drew Reitsma, Jerome, Idaho; 3. Alan Larson, Twin Falls; 4. Dan Doan, Twin Falls; 5. Jerry Rice, Twin Falls

Coors Super Stocks

A Heat – 1. Ellis; 2. Josh Jackson, Payette, Idaho; 3. Powers; 4. Carter; 5. Bradford

TEAM Mazda Subaru Mini Stocks

A Heat – 1. Brendan Fries, Boise; 2. Sanders; 3. Duane Gerber; 4. Hull; 5. Johnson

B Heat – 1. Robbie Hyde, Twin Falls; 2. TJ Labronte, Meridian; 3. Scott Gilligan, Filer, Idaho; 4. Colton Nelson, Meridian; 5. Keri Ballard, Boise

C Heat – 1. Brandon Shira, Boise; 2. 77; 3. Richard Brees, Meridian; 4. Nathan Dearing, Boise; 5. Alex Duda, Boise

Fast times

WWS/NSRA Sprintcars –Ryan Burdett, West Jordan, Utah, 11.370 seconds

ASA Pro Trucks – Hannah Newhouse, Twin Falls, Idaho, 14.717

Coors Super Stocks – Rob Powers, Meridian, Idaho, 14.228 (Track record. Previous: Dennis Brodigan, Nampa, Idaho, 14.397, June 9, 2012)

TEAM Mazda Subaru Mini Stocks – Jonathan Hull, Boise, Idaho, 15.354